Wednesday, June 20, 2018     Volume: 19, Issue: 15

Santa Maria Sun / School Scene

The following article was posted on June 14th, 2017, in the Santa Maria Sun - Volume 18, Issue 15 [ Submit a Story ]
The following articles were printed from Santa Maria Sun [] - Volume 18, Issue 15

Care for Our Earth grants awarded to 21 schools


Care for Our Earth grants were awarded to teachers at the annual Santa Barbara County Education Celebration on May 25. There were 23 classroom projects—from 21 Santa Barbara County schools—that earned grants.

The Santa Barbara County Air Pollution Control District, Santa Barbara County Education Office, and Santa Barbara County Water Agency awarded the grants as hundreds of local business and community leaders and educators gathered to celebrate.

“These grants help students and teachers engage in real-world problem solving, underscore the importance of being stewards of the environment, and help students as they develop the skills necessary to make informed and responsible decisions in the future,” Bill Cirone, Santa Barbara County superintendent of schools, said in a statement.

The Care for Our Earth grants are awarded annually to kindergarten through 12th-grade teachers who propose classroom science projects focusing on reducing pollution and saving energy and water. The grants support the school district’s clean air mission, and help local students understand environmental, energy, and alternative transportation concepts.

Janet Wolf, 2nd District county supervisor and Air Pollution Control District board member, represented the district in recognizing the Care for Our Earth grant recipients at this year’s Education Celebration.

“It is inspiring to see so many Santa Barbara County teachers highlighting the importance of our environment,” Wolf said in a statement. “This grant program provides lasting benefits to the schools, teachers, and students.”

There were three grant recipients from the Santa Maria-Bonita School District: Lela Alcocer from Oakley School, Chad Hartford from Fesler Junior High School, and Sarah Hebert from El Camino Junior High School.

There were also three grant recipients from the Santa Maria Joint Union High School District: Sonia Galvez and Juan Sanchez from Delta High School, and Kelly Davis from Pioneer Valley High School.

Weekly Poll
What's your first thought when you hear the word "Lompoc?"

My time at the penitentiary.

| Poll Results